Green Chemistry Working Group

Working Group Chair: Erin O'Brien, Biogen

The benefits of green chemistry are clearly acknowledged by the experts in the field but may not be well understood by individuals outside of the field. The goal of the Green Chemistry WG is to stimulate communication & discussion with regulatory agencies on Green Chemistry and to identify opportunities to publicize the use of green processes and technologies to a broader public.

The Green Chemistry WG seeks to drive innovation and the awareness of green chemistry in pharmaceutical development through the establishment and adoption of best practices, sharing of information within peer networks, and collaboration with regulatory agencies and other key stakeholders.

Additional Information about the Working Group

The team achieved initial discussions and consensus with the FDA that cooperative regulatory strategies should be investigated that can promote Green Chemistry in the pharmaceutical industry and met with the Agency in early 2012 to identify opportunities. A more detailed outline of potential activities will be communicated once feedback from the Agency is obtained.

The Working Group intends to publish, in periodicals with broad readership, articles on Green Chemistry that focus less on technical aspects but more on good examples from the IQ member companies. The purpose of these articles will be to share green chemistry successes/experience from across companies with both scientists and non-scientists. The first article will focus on introduction of the IQ Green Chemistry Working Group, the purpose of articles, tools used in the different member companies and many examples of their application and experience to further encourage awareness/application of green chemistry and technologies. 

Click here to find out about the Green Aspiration Level and Green Scorecard Calculator developed by this working group.

Green Aspiration Level

Project Lead: Frank Roschangar,

Collaborators: David Leahy, Ingrid Mergelsberg, John Tucker, Michael Kopach, Chris Senanayake, Juan Colberg, Fabrice Gallou, Stefan Koenig, Peter J. Dunn, John D. Hayler, Roger A. Sheldon

Status: Completed